FREE shipping on orders above $75.

The Seven Grandfather Teachings, also known as the Seven Sacred Teachings, are a set of teachings on human conduct towards others. Originating from the Anishinaabe Peoples, these teachings have been shared from generation to generation. They serve as a moral compass, offering wisdom and guidance for a harmonious and balanced life.

Inspiration in Every Sip: Kebaonish Tea

It's with great reverence and admiration for these teachings that our Kebaonish Tea line was conceived. Every blend and flavour in our collection resonates with the essence of one or more of the Seven Grandfather Teachings, aiming to provide a delightful cup of tea and a moment of reflection on these Anishinaabe values.

The Seven Grandfather Teachings are:

Wisdom (Nbwaakaawin)

- Represented by the Beaver

Wisdom (Nbwaakaawin)

As we explore the teachings of Wisdom (Nbwaakaawin) and the symbolism of the beaver, we can learn a valuable lesson about the power of knowledge. The beaver is a master at shaping its environment, using its talents to create dams, lodges, and other structures that serve the needs of its community. In the same way, we, too, can shape our surroundings and positively impact the world around us.

However, with great power comes great responsibility. We must use our knowledge wisely and consider the well-being of ourselves and others. Just as the beaver must balance its need for resources with the needs of its ecosystem, we must be mindful of our actions impact on those around us.

By embracing the teachings of Wisdom and following the example of the beaver, we can become better stewards of the knowledge and resources we have been given. Thus, we can learn to use our talents to build a better world for ourselves and future generations.

Love (Zaagidwin)

- Represented by the Eagle

Love (Zaagidwin)

Love (Zaagidwin), represented by the eagle, teaches us to have an open and accepting heart towards ourselves and others. We can learn from the eagle's ability to soar above the world and see things from a higher perspective, allowing us to approach life with more clarity and understanding. By embodying the eagle's qualities, we can cultivate unconditional love and appreciation for those around us, fostering a more harmonious and loving world.

Respect (Mnaadendiwin)

- Represented by the Buffalo

Respect (Mnaadendiwin)

Respect (Mnaadendiwin) is a powerful teaching represented by the buffalo. The buffalo symbolizes self-sacrifice and regard for life, reminding us to respect ourselves, others, and all of Creation. When we embody the qualities of the buffalo, we learn to approach life with a sense of humility and reverence, recognizing the interconnectedness of all things. By practicing respect in our daily lives, we can create a more harmonious and balanced world where all beings are valued and honoured.

Bravery (Aakdehewin)

- Represented by the Bear

Bravery (Aakode'ewin)

Bravery (Aakdehewin) is a powerful teaching represented by the bear. The bear symbolizes fearlessness and strength, reminding us to stand up for what we believe in and protect those who need our help. When we embody the qualities of the bear, we learn to approach life with a sense of tenacity and determination, recognizing the importance of upholding our principles and values. By practicing bravery in our daily lives, we can create a more just and equitable world where all individuals are empowered to live their lives to the fullest.

Honesty (Gwekwaadziwin)

- Represented by the Raven

Honesty (Gwekwaadziwin)

Honesty (Gwekwaadziwin) - represented by the Raven - embodies straightforwardness and encourages us to be genuine in our actions and words. The raven reminds us to be truthful in all aspects of our lives, from our interactions with others to how we present ourselves to the world. By embracing honesty, we can build trust and strengthen relationships with those around us. The raven teaches us to be transparent and accountable, recognizing that honesty is the foundation of a healthy and thriving community.

Humility (Dbaadendziwin)

- Represented by the Wolf

Humility (Dbaadendziwin)

Living for the community and not just ourselves is a vital aspect of humility (Dbaadendziwin), represented by the wolf. The wolf encourages us to put the needs of others before our own and to be selfless in our actions. By living with humility, we can build strong relationships and create a sense of unity within our communities. The wolf teaches us to be compassionate empathetic, and to listen to the needs of others. Through humility, we can create a more harmonious and equitable world.

Truth (Debwewin)

- Represented by the Turtle

Truth (Debwewin)

Recognizing the interconnectedness of all things is a crucial aspect of truth (Debwewin), symbolized by the turtle. The turtle teaches us to seek and embrace the truth in all our lives, from the smallest details to the grandest schemes. Through the lens of truth, we can see the world as it truly is, free from illusions and delusions. By embodying truth, we can foster deeper connections with others and create a more harmonious and just world.

Bridging the Old and New

The Seven Grandfather Teachings remain a beacon of timeless wisdom in our rapidly evolving world. Through our Kebaonish Tea line, we aim to bridge the age-old wisdom of these teachings with the modern sensibilities of today's tea enthusiasts. Every sip is a testament to quality and flavour and a nod to Anishinabe heritage, which values harmony, balance, and respect for all of Creation.

We invite you to experience this blend of tradition and modernity with Kebaonish Tea and, in doing so, be inspired by the profound wisdom of the Seven Grandfather Teachings.

Latest Stories

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.